I carry your heart

Comments 10 Standard

 

[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]

BY E. E. CUMMINGS

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

                                                      i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

“[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]” Copyright 1952, © 1980, 1991 by the Trustees for the E. E. Cummings Trust, from Complete Poems: 1904-1962 by E. E. Cummings, edited by George J. Firmage. Used by permission of Liveright Publishing Corporation.

Source: Poetry (June 1952).


Many of you will recognise this poem from the film “In Her Shoes” starring Cameron Diaz and Toni Colette. It’s a love poem which  to me sums up perfectly the feeling that we carry our loved ones, both living and dead, in our hearts. They are always with us and  our thoughts rarely stray from them. We have a girls’ day out shopping and end up buying things for our children, we have an adult meal with friends and end up exchanging family anecdotes. We crave some time away from our families but then miss them desperately when they’re not there.

The smallest things remind us of the loved ones we have lost: a snatch of music, the scent of a favourite flower, re-telling a story that they once told us.  We see them in the mannerisms and expressions of the ones left behind and in that way they never completely leave us. Above all, we carry them in our hearts, an intrinsic part of our very beings, a part that can never be taken away from us.

We fear our children starting nursery, then school, then leaving home altogether but really there is no need. We may not be with them physically but we are with them in spirit and they can feel our love and support no matter where they are. And even when we are no longer here in this world to protect them we will still be carried in their hearts helping them on their journey through life.

images-1

 

10 thoughts on “I carry your heart

  1. Beautiful post! You’re right – once someone is let into your heart, they never leave. Especially children. I feel bigger and better after having my kids – more to love, more to hold onto.

    Like

  2. What a lovely thought – I worry very much about my son being in school full time in September and this is a nice way to think of it.

    Like

    • Thanks Emma, it comes back to letting them spread their wings and experience new places and new things doesn’t it?

      Like

  3. I love this poem, we almost had it as a reading at our wedding. I didn’t have children at the time but thinking about it in this context is so refreshing.

    Like

  4. Our little ones growing up and flying the nest is a scary time! I was heartbroken when my boy wet to uni 600 miles away, but having watched him spread his wings and explore the world has made me prouder than I thought it was possible to be! Ad he will always be in my heart and always my baby boy!

    Like

  5. A lovely post. I worried about my son starting school, then moving to the primary and secondary. He will soon be sitting his AS levels. I am scared thinking he may be in Uni soon but I will always have him in my heart, wherever in the country he will be studying.

    Like

  6. It is true, we do fear them starting nursery, school leaving home – a lovely thought that we are with them always. I do feel my Gran remains with me, and she passed away 22 years ago 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

